Book This Course Now

I.S.3218:2013 – Fire Detection and Alarm Systems System Design, Installation, Commissioning, Servicing and Maintenance

1-day Review Course

1. Course Developer: PCCE Training (Paul Condron Consulting Engineer Ltd)>

2. Tutors: Paul Condron, Frank Pierce.

3. Overview:

I.S.3218:2013 is now well established. While it does not have the radical changes that the revision in 2009 contained there are still many changes and clarifications that make this a very different Standard and requires a review course for all parties involved in the FDAS process.

PCCE Training has delivered the original 1-day I.S3218:2009 to more than 1,000 attendees over the past number years and are now following on with this completely updated Review Course.

Since its revision and introduction in 2015 we have had in excess of 250 attendees including many Fire Officers from around the country. The course has been further developed in 2016 and is designed to be of benefit to all who are involved in the Fire Detection and Alarm System (FDAS) process whether or not they attended the original course.

4. Course Aim:

This 1-day Review Course is designed to update existing users of the 1989 and 2009 Standards with the changes in the revised Standard to the extent that will allow them to:

  • Understand the changes to the Standard.
  • Refresh general knowledge of the Standard.
  • Continue with their activities in relation to such systems in compliance with the revised Standard.


The new or amended sections of the Standard are explained, including the very considerable changes to the area of system Service and Maintenance. In addition the course will also address:

  • A review of the Fundamentals of fire Safety
  • A Section by Section review of the I.S.3218: 2013 sections and changes
  • New I.S.EN Standard on Visual Alarm Devices. This will have a major impact on installations.
  • Irish and EU regulation development affecting all FDAS Certification.
  • EU development on requirements for Service Companies.
  • Amended CPR product regulations.
  • Increased obligations on FDAS Service Providers.
  • Normative Certificates.


5. Learning Objectives:
  1. Module 1: Introduction: Course Overview, Transition.
    1. Module 2: Scope and Legislation:
      • Scope, Definitions,
      • Reference documents,
      • Need to install, service and maintain FDAS installations.
    1. Module 3: FDAS Design Process:
      • Fire Alarm System Design and Implementation Process which now forms the basis for the application of the revised Standard.
      • Module will revise and update previous 2009 requirements.
    1. Module 4: Design Process:
      • Review changes to revised standard,
      • Emphasise pertinent Design factors.
    2. Module 5: Design and Certification:
      • Review new Certification requirements.
    3. Module 6A: Detailed Design:
      • System Category,
      • Zoning: Full review of the basic parameters.
      • Detailed review of System Categories.
      • Review of Detection Zoning – importance and design
      • Detection Device Characteristics and Design Parameters update
      • Alarm Device Characteristics and Design Parameters update
      • System Types, CIE, Power Supplies
    1. Module 7: Limiting False Alarms:
      • Update on revisions and changes.
    2. Module 8: Residential Application:
      • Section has been expanded and revised.
      • Changes will be reviewed.
    1. Module 9: Installation, Commissioning:
      • Update on revisions and changes.
    2. Module 10: User Responsibilities:
      • Significant changes for Users explained.
    3. Module 11: Service and Maintenance:
      • Significant changes.
      • Increased requirements on the Competence and knowledge required to Service installations.
      • Changes to Periodic Service.

Who should attend?

The course prerequisite is a working knowledge of the existing IS3218:2009 Standard but will also benefit those who are not fully familiar with this document.

All parties who are currently involved in any aspect of the works covered by the Standard should attend this course in order to continue to provide a service that will comply with the revised requirements of the new Standard.

These would include:

    Local Authorities:
  • Fire Officers
  • Planners
  • Designers (Fire Alarm Systems form part of their remit)

  • Fire Engineering Consultants
  • Building Services Designers (Consulting Engineers)
  • Architects
  • Designers and providers of FDAS systems

      • Installers:
      • Contractors who install FDAS cabling and systems.

        System Suppliers:
      • Manufacturers and suppliers of FDAS systems/components

      FDAS Service and Maintenance Companies:


      • Parties who are responsible for the operation and maintenance of Fire Detection and Alarm Systems in their premises
      • Property Management companies

      7. Test: There will be an open-book test on the presented information for certification.

      8: Tutor Profiles:

      Paul Condon: Chartered Building Services Engineer; Registered Consulting Engineer. Over 40 years’ experience in the design and specification of fire Alarm systems. NSAI Fire Safety Standards committee member. Course developer and presenter.

      Frank Pierce: Over 35 years’ experience in design, installation, systems development, commissioning and service/maintenance of Fire Alarm Systems. NSAI and European Fire Safety Standards committee member. Course developer and presenter.

      9. PCCE Award Certificate:

      All participants will receive a PCCE Training award certificate for successful completion of the training day above. This will require a pass mark in the Test.

      The course qualifies for 1-day CPD from Engineers Ireland.

      Paul Condron,

      PCCE Training